Skip to Main Content


An exciting program of speakers and interactive sessions is currently being constructed! Watch this space for announcements of keynotes and plenaries over the coming weeks.

Keynote Speakers

  • Romlie Mokak

    Mr Romlie Mokak

    Productivity Commission

    Romlie Mokak was appointed a full-time Commissioner with the Productivity Commission in December 2018.

    Romlie is a Djugun man and a member of the Yawuru people.
    Prior to joining the Commission, he was the Chief Executive Officer of the Lowitja Institute, Australia's national institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health research from 2014.

    Before joining the Lowitja Institute, Romlie was the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association for almost a decade. Earlier roles included Director, Substance Use, and Manager of the National Eye Health Program, for the Australian Government's Office for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health. He was the first Aboriginal policy officer in the New South Wales government Ageing and Disability Department.

    Romlie has chaired and has been a member for a range of policy, research and evaluation bodies at the national and state government levels. He is a past chair for the National Health Leadership Forum, the collective of national Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing organisations.

    He also convened the first Lowitja Institute International Indigenous Health and Wellbeing Conference, and delivered the 2016 Cranlana Program Medicine and Society Oration. Romlie is currently a member of the Board of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.

    Romlie holds a Bachelor of Social Science and Postgraduate Diploma in Special Education.

    Romlie is currently working on the Indigenous Evaluation Strategy project.

  • June Oscar

    Ms June Oscar, AO

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner
    Australian Human Rights Commission

    June Oscar AO is a proud Bunuba woman from the remote town of Fitzroy Crossing in Western Australia's Kimberley region. She is a strong advocate for Indigenous Australian languages, social justice, women's issues, and has worked tirelessly to reduce Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD).

    June has held a raft of influential positions including Deputy Director of the Kimberley Land Council, chair of the Kimberley Language Resource Centre and the Kimberley Interpreting Service and Chief Investigator with WA's Lililwan Project addressing FASD.

    She was appointed to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (1990) and was a winner of the 100 Women of Influence 2013 in the Social Enterprise and Not For Profit category. In 2015 June received the Menzies School of Health Research Medallion for her work with FASD.

    June has a Bachelor's Degree in Business from the University of Notre Dame, Broome, Western Australia, and is currently writing her PhD. June is a co-founder of the Yiramalay Wesley Studio School and is a Community member of the Fitzroy Valley Futures Governing Committee.

    In February 2017, she was awarded an honorary doctorate from Edith Cowan University. June was also named the NAIDOC Person of the Year at the 2018 National NAIDOC Awards and in 2019 she was bestowed the honorary role of a Distinguished Fellow of ANZSOG.

    June began her five-year term as Australia's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner on 3 April 2017.